Week 2: Introduction to LeMill and Wikiversity

Of course, registering at Wikiversity was a piece of cake; then the fun began! It was sort of thrilling adjusting some capitalisation and punctuation in a section about grammar, but then I got bogged down in trying to navigate around the site. I have to say that the navigation wasn’t exactly intuitive; however, I have promised to give myself another chance now the work week is over and I have several hours until midnight! Now I have succeeded and writing my profile.

I haven’t succeeded in doing anything but the bare minimum and I am  not sure whether or not I’ll be able to locate it again but it’s there! The clock is ticking away and I don’t seem to be getting any closer to the goal of finding a project where people are working on some learning resource. Every now and then I find myself one a page that is full of technical terminology that throws me off. After wandering around I have found a group that I have decided to join. I am now a member of the The Deschooling of Society reading group and have put my name on their watch list. In fact, it’s a book that has been sitting on my bookshelf since it came out in 1971. I guess it’s time to read it! I am interested in seeing how the “watch list” works. And now I have discovered the user contribution page that I think will be very helpful in the future as I am having quite a bit of trouble keeping track of where I am.

I have started a page which I hope to fill with interesting development projects supported by IT. I still feel mainly frustrated and have reached my limit for today. There is still lots to explore and I must say that having a time limit has helped.

It is absolutely true that you have to “get your hands dirty”!

One Response to “Week 2: Introduction to LeMill and Wikiversity”

  1. erkanyilmaz Says:

    >and I am not sure whether or not I’ll be able to locate it again but it’s there
    see comment here about the “my watchlist” button and right to that link is the “my contributions”. Is this what you had in mind ?

    >The clock is ticking away and I don’t seem to be getting any closer to the goal of finding a project where people are working on some learning resource.
    I always recommend people to use the chat – there are always people who know this and that and they might be able to direct you faster. It is a pitty people don’t use the collective mind more 😦 direct link chat and more info at Wikiversity:Chat

    About reading groups: tomorrow, 15th March 2008, 15:30 UTC there is a live chat meeting about Thucydides: The Peloponnesian War – more info here. If you have some time, just come by and lurk a little. We don’t bite 🙂

    Erkan YILMAZ

Leave a Reply

